The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Division of Occupational Safety

399 Washington Street, 5" Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Employment Permit
(14 -17 year-old workers)

This permit is issued to 14 through 17 year-old workers in accordance with G.L. ¢, 149,
§§86-89.

Permit Number; Date of Issue:

Name of Minor:

Minor’s Address:

Minor’s Place of Birth: Date of Birth:

Current Age years months Gender:

Color of Hair: Color of Eyes: Facial Marks:

Specific Nature of Employment:

Employer’s Name:

Employer’s Address:

Proof of Age Accepted:

School Last Attended:

Grade Last Attended: Years in School: School Attendance Req.:

Municipality of Issue:

Expiration Date:

Signature of Minor (sign in the presence of the issuing agent)

The Superintendent of Schools, or his or her authorized agent, hereby certifies that the
child named in this permit has personally appeared before the person issuing this permit
and has been examined and, except in the case of a limited permit, found to possess the
educational requirements described in G.L. c. 76, §1, and that all the papers required by
G.L. c. 149, §87, have been duly examined, approved and filed and that all the conditions
and requirements for issuing an employment permit have been fulfilled.

Any erasure or alteration voids this permit and is punishable by fine.

Signature of Superintendent of Schools or Authorized Agent

Q  If checked, no signature is necessary, as minor is 17 years of age and a copy of
his/her high school diploma or the equivalent is on file with authorized school
official.
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Important Conditions: : All students between 6 and 16 years of age must attend
school, with the following exceptions:

1) 14 and 15 year-olds who have completed the 6th grade and hold a permit for
employment in private domestic service or service on a farm for 6 hours per
day;

2) 14 and 15 year-olds who have completed the 6th grade and have the written
permission of the superintendent of schools to engage in non-wage earning
employment at home; and

3) a child over 14 who holds a permit for employment in a cooperating
employment.

Students between the ages of 14 and 16 may work, but unless they fall within one of
the three categories, they must also attend school until age 16.

Full-Time Employment permits are issued at the discretion of the Superintendent of
Schools.

An Employment permit does not authorize the employment of the minor named thereon
by anyone other than the employer named. Employment of the minor named is restricted
to the specific nature of employment stated on the face of this permit.

Whoever, without authority, alters an employment permit shall be punished by a fine.
G. L. c. 149, §90.
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5 THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

JiE EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT
" DEPARTMENT OF LABOR STANDARDS

Employment Permit Application for 14 through 17 Year-Olds

Instructions:  After completing the form and obtaining the required signatures as indicated,
take this completed form to the Superintendent of Schools, or the person your school has
authorized to issue work permits, in the school district where you live or in town where you
attend school. You should bring with you proof of your age, such as your birth certificate,
passport, or immigration record. The Superintendent, or his or her authorized agent, will then
issue you an Employment Permit,

Bring the signed work permit back to your employer who must keep it until you leave the job.

Questions about this application should be directed to the Department of Labor Standards at
(617) 626-6952.

If you are under 18 years of age, you must obtain a work permit before starting a new job.! G.L.
¢. 149, §§86-89. The following are the steps you should take; please note that a Physicians
Certificate of Health is required only of 14 and 15 year-olds.

Steps for Getting an Employment Permit

1. Obtain a job offer from an employer,

2. Ask the employer to complete the following section:

Promise of Employment

Name of Minor:

Name of Employer:

Business Address:

Job Title & Primary Duties:

Number of Hours per day Minor is to be Employed:

The undersigned agrees to employ this minor as stated above and in compliance with state law.

! Minors who are 17 years of age, who can show documented proof of a high school diploma or the equivalent to the
school official authorized to issue work permits, do not need a signed work permit, but must still complete this
permit application.




A summary of laws governing minors’ hours of work and hazardous occupations can be
found at the end of this application form,

Signature of Employer or Authorized Agent Date

3. For 14 and 15 year-olds only (16 and 17 year-olds may skip this step): Ask your doctor to

complete the following section:
Note: The following Certificate of Health must be signed within 12 months of the date this
application is presented to the school official issuing the permit.

Physician’s Certificate of Health

I hereby certify that I have made a thorough physical examination of the following
named 14 or 15 year-old minor:

and that, in my opinion, said minor is in sufficiently sound health and physically able to
perform the work indicated above. A summary of laws governing minors’ hours of work
and hazardous occupations can be found at the end of this application form.

Signature of Physician Date

4. Ask your parent, guardian, or custodian to sign below.

Ihereby approve the issuance of a permit for the work indicated above. A summary of laws
governing minors’ hours of work and hazardous occupations can be found at the end of
this application form.

Name of Parent, Guardian, or Custodian

Signature of Parent, Guardian, or Custodian Date

5. Sign this application below:

Signature of Minor Date




